Zine-Zine a Go-Go

This year is going to be great!

Why you ask?

Well, for starters I will be part of LA Zine Fest!

You can check out the happs of the event here: http://lazinefest.wordpress.com/

That in itself is monumental for me because it is my first official baby step out into the art community. I can tell you with utmost sincerity that I am scared shitless because loads of people will be looking and silently judging my art.  That fear is something I have yet to overcome but I’m hoping come this February 19th, at The Last Bookstore, I will rid myself of that feeling.

Fuck and Double Fuck

Fuck and Double Fuck

Also, I was fortunate enough to be part of an email interview with LA Zine Fest that went something like this…

1. What was your first zine about and when was it made? 
I made my first zine last year – I’ll [kind of] Miss You.  It is about leaving San Diego after living there for 10 years.  I went through major emotional and mental transitions that were documented with drawings in my sketchbook [in either pen and/or watercolor] and written about in my journal.  I hesitated handing out my zine a bit because it’s incredibly personal, but I thought fuck it. We are all emotional and mental beings that have gone through something similar, you know?  Why not share what I’m going through since all of us strive for human connectivity anyway.

2. Describe your most recent zine. 
My most recent zine is #2 in my I’ll [kind of] Miss You series.  Most sketches have been done this year and are definitely “lighter” but still touch on feelings of self-doubt, courage, happiness and love. I also want to do a mini photo-zine. We’ll see though. Stay tuned for that one.

3.  Of all the things you’ve ever made, zine-related or otherwise, what’s your one favorite? 
My most recent and largest water color painting of a woman on card board is definitely my favorite piece so far.  I love seeing all the layers of shapes I incorporated into her silhouette.  For me, I feel it reflects our multi-layered personas we tend to hide for whatever reason [fear, shyness, awkwardness]. We forget we must relish on our own individuality and share our amazing selves with all the amazing people that surround us.
4. Name three of your influences and how they affected your work. 
This is a tough one to answer because I am influenced by many things but I definitely think I am influenced by A. Conversation B. My surroundings C. Whatever artist I’m obsessing over at any given time [recently it’s been Irana Douer]

5. What do you do when you’re not creating and how does it help or harm what you do artistically?
I work and go to school but I honestly feel every experience can only add to your art work and the creative process for what ever medium you are exploring.

Not Now.

So please, if you are in LA [or if you are in San Diego, hint, hint, to my friends down there] please come check out this free event. All the tablers are AMAZING!

Leave a Reply

