M and M

Hello, Hello.

A couple of months back I discovered McManus & Morgan from a vimeo video.

I fell in love with it immediately.

Watch this and you’ll see why.

I love how returning to LA after being in San Diego for 10 years,

I am discovering hidden gems within the LA ruff.

I decided to go out to McManus & Morgan and see if the owner

would allow me to shoot some pictures for a photo assignment.

Gary, the owner, totally did!

He was incredibly nice and so was his associate.

It seems they are great supporters of all art mediums and pretty things [like paper].

They also had vintage books there for sale at reasonable prices.

I couldn’t help but buy a few things – a photography book, scraps of beautiful paper

and a really pretty mustard yellow envelope.

Okay, Okay.  I’m done rambling.

Take a look at some of my favorite pictures!

windows

windows

panels & lights

panels & lights

paper shapes

paper shapes

chairs & books

chairs & books

pretty envelopes

pretty envelopes

P A P E R

P A P E R

Now go support your local businesses!

Thank you.

🙂

4 thoughts on “M and M

  1. Great stuff! I love the idea of local folks still doing this. I remember when I was a little kid I’d visit the newspaper office in the tiny town out in the wheat fields where my family was from. He set the paper in linotype and I loved watching the lead letter slugs being made. I remember being amazed at how hot the slugs were when he could pick them up (his hands were so callused).

    Thanks for sharing

  2. Thank you for spreading the word about these shops. The people that work in them and their businesses are very important for my community. MacArthur Park used to have a lot of art schools and studios and art shops, but they all left in the 80’s. Gary at McManus & Morgan is the only one who stayed.

Leave a Reply

